Big Apple/Big Goals

The lack of posts between Yuma and here are due to the fact that I had barely 48 hours to get back to my campus and get all my things together before I had to leave for New York for the CMA spring college media convention, which has been quite a time.

There’s been a lot of turmoil within our visiting staff (cramming sightseeing and Times Square plus two full conference days into such a short amount of time takes its toll), but personally I’m taking a lot away from the experience. Everyone is tired and frustrated while trying to sightsee; I myself am feeling okay (and not interested in seeing the sights; this is far from my first time here so I’ve seen Manhattan over and out a couple times now), but maybe it’s because I already had my crazy existential crisis earlier this morning, which include a mix of both “I’m starving and tired and wtf,” and the terrifying “dear god I’m never going to make a career out of this there’s too much competition why am I not a math genius or something.” But I digress.

I got to see Scott Pelley (CBS News), learn about what I might want to do after college, take a tour of the Huffington Post offices and headquarters, which I think was the most inspiring and fun thing I did, because it made me realize that HuffPost is the kind of company I want to work for in a few years: great writers and editors, but laid back and a great center of creativity. A lot more my speed than the fast-paced, stressful, 24/7 news jobs I had thought I wanted, until I learned what goes into them.

Which brings me to what I really want to say: I am going to start a new blog, probably this weekend while I have some free time to get things going. I need a blog that will attract attention, readership, and get me noticed as a HerCampus blogger or even a HuffPost blog contributor someday. I know it won’t happen right away (or anytime soon, really) but I’m eager to start working my way up to that level. 

Here’s the thing: I need to narrow down my blogging to a niche. I love this blog; this blog is great writing practice and helps me hone my style, which I think I’ve gotten down pretty well but could always develop. Having a distinct narrative is really important, so mine is always developing. But since this is my personal, whatever-I-feel-like-at-the-time blog, it’s not as specifically centered as I’d want my other blog to be. This blog is for fun, not for gaining any following. Not to say I don’t LOVE the people who follow me and reading their work, because I’m extremely flattered you guys find me interesting. Again, I digress.

My question to ANYONE reading this: what should I blog about? I’ve heard to make a list of hobbies/things you love or are good at, and here’s the shortlist:

Things I’m good at:
-Writing
-Dressing cute on a budget
-Eating (a little too good at that one)

Things I love:
-News
-Fashion/Style (mine’s kind of unique)
-Food (obviously)
-Social networking
Giving advice (to some extent)
-Books and reading

I know it seems vague now, so if anyone can help me get specific I would love that. Please help, really. Comment or email me! It would be much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

