This Week’s Self-Portrait in Music

It’s rare to see me walking around campus, at the gym, at the library, or even doing dishes, without headphones on or earbuds in. I love having a soundtrack to my life, even for the most menial of tasks.

This week’s top listens:

1. Mind Over Matter – Young the Giant

2 A Taste of Honey – The Beatles

3. Perpetuum Mobile – Penguin Café Orchestra

4. Borderlines and Aliens – Grouplove

5. Man on Fire – Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

6. Taxi Cab – Vampire Weekend

7. Countdown (Sick for the Big Sun)- Phoenix

8. Communist Daughter – Neutral Milk Hotel

9.  Drops in the River – Fleet Foxes

10. There’s a Place – The Beatles

The Beatles are always a staple for me, but the last couple weeks I’ve been binging on Young the Giant’s new album Mind Over Matter.  Also downloaded a lot of Tchaikovsky and The Strokes, so they may be on next week’s most played list.

What do you guys usually listen to? What are some of your favorite bands and styles? I honestly want to know. ❤

2 thoughts on “This Week’s Self-Portrait in Music

  1. Nice taste chickie! Oh dear lord, I love SO many bands and artists but I’ll just name a (lot)few- Bon Iver, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Xx, James Blake, Daughter, Janelle Monae, The Civil Wars, Aerosmith, The Killers, Oh Land, The Black Keys, Santigold, Florence and the Machine, Arcade Fire, Sam Sparro, Alt-J, Lykke Li, My Brightest Diamond, Fiest, The Weeknd, Janis Joplin, The Rolling Stones…ugh, som much more! 🙂

    • You also have amazing taste! c: I’m like in love with The Black Keys and I started re-listening to Brothers again this weekend, so they’ll probably pop up on next week’s list. Also I juuuuust downloaded The Civil Wars so I’m excited to listen to them. They seem very relaxing. xxoo

Leave a Reply

